Poems You Should Read…

I think every week I should post one or two ideas of poems that you should read… Maybe a poet a week- just added a category called that.

The first should definitely be Seamus Heaney…

Due to being afraid of infringing copyright, I can’t actually post his poems here, but I can give you a few titles you can reasearch:

Requiem For The Croppies- this poem is about the Croppy Boys, talking about their death.

Mid-Term Break- a very sad poem, about Heaney’s  four-year old brother dying after being hit by a car.

Both these poems are sad, but they are very beautiful: they use such visual imagery.

I know Mid-Term Break off by heart: we learned it in school. It contains sibilance, alliteration, assonance, consonance, onomatopoeia and aural, tactile and visual imagery.

The last line uses alliteration beautifully when describing his brothers coffin: ” A four foot box, a foot for every year.”

I swear, I wrote about four six-page essays on this poem… but I never got sick of it.

Leave a Reply

