Movies and Books- the Never-Ending Debate

What books do you love that have been turned into movies? Did they turn out well? Did they suck?

For example, Pride and , the most recent film starring Keira Knightly, I think is actually very good. It portrays exactly the same characteristics and traits I had imagined in the characters, especially Elizabeth and Mrs Bennet. As one of my friends said, “It’s the only film I’ve ever seen that’s actually better than the book,”. I do love the book, but I love the film aswell because it is so close to what I had imagined.

Non strictly a book, but I find it the same with Romeo + Juliet. The most recent  film (starring Leonardo DiCaprio and Claire Danes) does bring the play much more to life than reading it from a book does. However, I love this film for different reasons to Pride and Prejudice: aside from the amazing story, I like Pride and  because it is so close to how I imagined, but I love Romeo+Juliet because it is so different. When I see a movie interpretation of a book, and then read the book, I often see the actors/actresses that portrayed the characters. However, there are two distinct Romeo+Juliets in my mind: the American, gun-loving outlaws of Verona Beach, and some very eloquent Italian Nobles from the 1600s.I can switch back and forwards between these two imaginary worlds while reading the drama (but I prefer the gun-lovers). Even with these huge differences, I was surprised how close my imaginary Tybalt and Capulets can to the movie-version Tybalt and his gang of freinds (minus the leather jackets and guns, of course).

After seeing the movie Romeo+Juliet, I found it gave way more meaning to the drama: before, I saw it as gloomy and miserable the whole way through, with a gloomy ending. Now it has become fun, full of life, love and youth the whole way through, and utterly, devestatingly heart-breaking at the end. So for this, seeing a film adaptation actually improved the story for me.

However, I could lists hundreds of movies that have destroyed the original story/book, examples such as Inkheart.

What books converted to movies did you love? Which did you hate?

2 thoughts on “Movies and Books- the Never-Ending Debate

  1. I love the latest BBC miniseries of Jane Eyre with Toby Stephens. Though the characters look much nicer than it is described in the book, their inner characteristics are just how I imagined them and are in line with the novel. Really, really great adaptation.
    Which movies I hate? Hmmm, lots, definitely, but the worst are the Twilight movies. I don’t hate them though, it’s just as far from my mental picture as they could be.
    Another movie I loved is The Time Machine by H.G. Wells. I haven’t read the book but a friend of mine did, and she said it is full of philosophical ideas and the love story part is not in it. Shame, I’d love to read it.
    And lastly, I don’t really know what to think about the Time Traveler’s Wife because the book was really beautiful and the movie did capture some aspects of it, I enjoyed watching it. Still, it’s not the same, you know what I mean?

  2. Hey,

    I love Pride and Prejudice with Keira Knightley— I don’t know how many times I’ve watched it!
    I’ve also watched both versions of Romeo and Juliet–the Leo DiCaprio one, and the zefferelli (or however you spell it) one back in 1960s. They’re both great, very different interpretations. I myself liked being able to watch both in my English class, because both have characteristics that I like and dislike. It’s hard to decide whether you want to watch a classic Romeo and Juliet setting, or a modern one like DiCaprio and Danes, if you know what I mean..

    I could name a hundred books turned into movies failures…some examples: Ramona and Beezus (Ramona played by Selena Gomez!!!….ugh), Percy jackson (if you’ve read the book, the movie’s not that good, though I have heard positive comments from people who haven’t read the book).

    Wow, this comment is starting to get long.. So I’ll end with a good interpretation: WIcked.
    I know, I know, it’s a musical. But still. Enough said.

    ~Bookworm4evr
    bookchomperreviews.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

