Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater

I’m not sure if I ever mentioned this book here before: I’m pretty sure I didn’t, but even if I did, I’m sure I didn’t do it justice. Shiver does fit into the paranormal romance category, but it is very different from other well known books of this genre, like Twilight. For one, Shiver’s characters are really likeable, memorable characters. They are funny, sweet, touching, and not constantly depressed or irritatingly melodramatic. The story is told through the voices of Sam and Grace, with approximately every chapter swapping back and forth between each of their voices. This gives extra insights into certain character’s decisions, and helps build dramatic irony, when we know more than the characters do. This is often impossible in first-person narrated books.

The story is sweet and simple; the use of urgency and the fact that time is running out is a fantastic plot device: it speeds up the story and makes everything more meaningful and memorable. I really like how this book has the sort of urgency and “nothing-lasts-forever-ness” that you usually only find in books where one of the characters has a terminal illness. However, this book is nowhere near as cheesy as one of those star-cross’d lovers stories, even though you do get the feeling of finiteness.

This is definitely one of my favourite books ever, five out of five stars.

One thought on “Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater

  1. Just bought the book but I haven’t had time to read it so far and I only bought it because I trust your judgement. If you say it’s a great book then it is 🙂

Leave a Reply

