Waking the Witch, Kelly Armstrong

I got this book for my birthday, and to be honest, at first I was a bit worried. The caption on the front asks, "A triple homicide? Or a twenty-first-century witch hunt?" If a book says this and it has a lonely red-tinted photo, I usually avoid it.

However, this one was accually good. It wasn’t the melodramatic rubbish that many of the new dark-fantasy wanna-be Twilights: it accually had a plot that was exciting. I’d never have thought I’d like a murder mystery, but I did.

You learn something new every day.

Anyway, the novel follows the story of Savannah Levine, a private investigator and powerful witch. She finally gets to work on a case alone, and travels to the small town of Columbus, where there young women have been found dead. She was contacted about the murder by a half-demon acquaintance who thinks there’s something more to the deaths than the police’s story of drug debt punishment.

It’s not that scary, but it’s entertaining. Plus the author isn’t afraid to kill off main characters which is refreshing. A good read.

2 thoughts on “Waking the Witch, Kelly Armstrong

  1. Pingback: Books I have read in the last week… « Day in the life of a Busy Gal…

  2. Pingback: Books I have read in the last week… « Day in the life of a Busy Gal…

Leave a Reply

