Forever, Maggie Stiefvater

Cover of "Shiver"

Cover of Shiver

I’ve just finished reading Forever, the last in the “Wolves of Mercy Falls” series. Of course this book doesn’t live up to Shiver. Nothing ever could. But at least it far surpasses Linger, the second in the series. This is just a promise to everyone who’s read them that t doesn’t go even further downhill from Linger.

Sam and Grace are stuck with the opposite of their problem in the first book: this time Sam is human and Grace is a wolf. Except now we know Sam isn’t really properly cured, and so will eventually start shifting again. Unwilling to take the same risk with Grace as he took to save himself (injecting himself with meningitis) Grace ends up in the woods as a wolf. Her family think Sam’s after kidnapping/killing her, as does half the population of their town.

Things just begin to go down hill from here for Sam and Grace. A planned hunt including helicopters is set to hit the woods, with Grace in it as a wolf. Three pretty central characters end up dead, and you are left with a note of uncertainty as to Sam and Grace ending up fully human.

A good book, but I think Shiver worked on its own as the perfect novel. I think it could have ended there, maybe just with a few more things tied up.

P.S. Check out the new blue cover! I think I prefer the red and black theme.

3 thoughts on “Forever, Maggie Stiefvater

  1. Hey, it’s Bookchomper,

    It’s so funny! I just got this book on my Kindle, and I wasn’t sure whether I wanted to read it or not. I actually decided to put it off for now, because I agree with you, Shiver was really good, and Linger didn’t live up to it. I think I’d just like to stay with the memory of what happened in Shiver, because the characters really popped out in the first one.

    Bookchomper

  2. Pingback: Forever by Maggie Stiefvater « BeTwixt: a bibliophile's blog

  3. Pingback: Seriously, I Will Read Your Book ~ Linger by Maggie Stiefvater « A Writer's Blog © Lara Dunning

Leave a Reply

