Things I Love About My Culture

At Mizen Head.

I love how we use the word ye for you plurar. Life would be so much more confusing without it. I sometimes wonder why it's not standard English.

I love how we tend not to accept compliments, and degrade the item that is admired. Example:

"I love your dress!"

"Ha! I bought this in Penneys for a fiver. It's falling apart allready."

I love how rubbishy our signposting is, with twisted metal signs pointing down wrong roads. It's like we want to kill off one of our biggest trades, tourism.

I love our language and the way I don't have to practise my accent when I'm speaking it, because it's the same one I use for English. It's also pretty cool when you can't find an apropriate English word, and you have to stick Irish in, or when we twist English grammar until it's a word for word translation of Irish. Also love our phrases, like "out foreign" to describe someone abroad.

I love how there is always someone who'll give you a lift home from anywhere, and how almost-strangers bring you home to their house because your bus broke down.

I love how we become more Irish when we're away from home or surrounded by tourists, because we're proud of where we're from.

One thing I hate is how American actors do Irsih accents. There are so many amazing Irish actors out there, use them instead of failing miserably. Look to "The Wind That Shakes The Barley" to hear real Irish accents from the best bit of Ireland: West Cork, my neck of the woods.

Powered by Plinky

2 thoughts on “Things I Love About My Culture

  1. My grandfather was from Ireland and spoke Gaelic but no one in my family bothered to learn it. Now he’s gone and I’d love to know how to speak it. A friend of mine found an online class but I’m not sure how realistic that is.

    • Is aoibhinn liom mo theanga, ach ceapaim nach maith a an duine é, mar tá orainn é a fhoghlaim sa scoil. Carb as do sheanathair?

      Translation:
      I love my language, but I think a lot of people don’t, because we have to learn it in school. Where was your Granda from?

      The best way to learn Irish is by listening and reading it. Check out our Irish language t.v. station, TG4 (prenounced TG ceathair). Look it up on Google. You can get a whole load of books as gaelige, I’d recommend start with something simple such as Harry Potter agus an Órlach.
      Slán!

      Oh, and by the way, call it Irish when you’re talking to an Irish person ;). Gaelic is very anglicised.
      It’ll probably be easier to find a valid internet class if you search for it as either Irish or Gaelige (the real name) too.

Leave a Reply

