Plot V. Character

It sometimes feels like people look down on you slightly if you show preference for an action-packed adventure novel over a thought-provoking, metaphor-laced novel that investigates the many layers in a character’s personality. Sure, I love a good weird book every now and then that might not have a particularly block-blustery plot-line, but follows some great character arcs, such as Room by Emma Donoghue (well… it was interesting. And uncomfortable).

But personally, I usually like a good mix. Fabulous adventures with empty characters leave me feeling let-down (and make me think how I could have done it better), whereas solely character-driven books can get a little bit tedious. I love books where rounded characters get up to mischief and mayhem, so you both can’t put the book down with excitement, but would also care if someone was killed off.

Which is more important to you, plot or character? Also, in your favourite book, which is stronger? (look hard…the difference may only be slight)

If you write, which comes more naturally to you, delving into someone’s psyche or stitching together rip-roaring action?

Maeve x

2 thoughts on “Plot V. Character

  1. In good books round characters and flat characters are both present. Look at Pride & Prejudice. Elizabeth and Mr Darcy can change but for example her mother remains the same silly woman as in the beginning.
    But if I have to choose, I choose plot rather than character.

    • Actually, I didn’t think about the fact that there is nearly always a mixture of different levels of characters while writing this, even though I’ve the gist of an entire post written up on it!

      Yeah, I was thinking about characters like Catherine de Bourgh and Mr. Collins who have one main character trait, and everything they do fits that trait.. in Mrs Bennets case, she turns everything that happens into an attack on her “nerves”, Lady de Bourgh is always condescending and self-important, and Mr Collins is just ridiculous.

      I’m with you on that one, I think.

Leave a Reply

